Day 20 of 30 styles in 30 days: Veronica Lake waves

TBDveryveronica1

How are you feeling?

Gorgeous. Yes, I still might be a bit very snotty. I may have a hacking cough that makes me sound like Dot Cotton on a bad day. But tonight Matthew, I’ll be channelling sultry silver screen goddess Veronica Lake!

Preening like a mofo
Preening like a mofo

SPOILERS!

It’s in the title Other Me *sighs*

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

images

Veronica Lake waves.

If this hairstyle had a personality it would…

…suit a vintage loving girl on the happiest day of her life. True fact: Veronica Lake was the inspiration for my wedding hair so yes I have had this hair before.

Me wedding it up
Me wedding it up

But I feel less of a cheater because I never actually did this hair. Rather sat there where someone else did it for me while I shook like a leaf.

What do I need?

Curling tongs

Hair spray

Soft brush

How to

Source

TBDwavestutorial1

 Source

  1. Side part your hair. The deeper the side part = the more Veronica Lake realness you will be channelling.
  2. Section hair off and curl til midway up the hair. You want to curl the lower half of your head for this look
  3. Hold the curls around the barrel for as long as possible
  4. Spray the hell out of all the curls with hairspray to set
  5. Then gently brush the curls out into waves
  6. Set again with some hairspray

How long did it take?

30 minutes.

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

Easier than I thought. If I bodged up a curl I just let it cool then recurled.

Show us the finished product?

PicMonkey Collage2.jpg

Pulling my best Veronica look of enigmatic bitchface. Truly VLake was a pioneer on so many levels.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Wow, resemblance is uncanny…. NOT!

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘Who is this imposter?’

But am I a hot imposter HWSNBN?

‘You look like a film star.’

Achievement unlocked!

Why you are doing this again? 

Ridiculous self indulgence with just a smidgen of charitable impulse:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

One thought on “Day 20 of 30 styles in 30 days: Veronica Lake waves

Leave a Reply

