Day 12 of 30 styles in 30 days: summer scarf updo

How are you feeling?

Amused. And you will be too once you’ve seen my hair

funny-cat-gifs-30-gifs_9

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

Summer scarf updo

If this hairstyle had a personality it would be…

This hairstyle was like a mutant gibson roll. Just add a scarf.

Gibson-Roll

What do I need?

Headscarf

Bobby pins

Instructions

summer-scarf-pictorial-259x1024

Source

  1. Tie scarf over the hair
  2. Secure scarf by pinning to the back of the head
  3. Take a strand of hair from the front and loop over and then tuck under the scarf
  4. Add more hair and repeat
  5. Tucking into all the hair is secure
  6. Pin the hair to secure

How long did it take?

15 minutes.

I’ll confess that I have a google document listing every hair style I am going to do over the next 30 days. The hairstyles I do at weekends are allocated because either they are a) ridiculously hard and need a lot of prep time or b) will probably make me look like a weirdo. As this only took 15 minutes, guess which category this hairstyle fell into?

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

Mmmh, it was OK. I found it hard to weave the hair under the scarf neatly but that may just be my general malcoordinatedness

Show us the finished product?

Do I have to? OK, here goes:

PicMonkey Collage

It’s not like I haven’t looked like a twat for charity before. See Exhibit A the rather natty headgear I wore to skydive last year. But that was more of a by product rather that the result I aiming for.

386135_10151249239839180_591537403_n

Normally I wear my hair how I’ve styled for the rest of the day (even if it does keep falling down. Grr, I’m talking about you fake bob). But after a couple of hours I had to take my hair out of the scarf. People were staring at me and not in a ‘who’s that girl with the awesome angry dinosaur hair’.

The only plus side to this hair do is inadvertently gives you very nice loose ringlet curls. SOOO much better than the weird summer scarf look, plus you don’t have to wear it out the house.

83be70e88ee1b85a4d003a53e9962dea

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘I don’t like it. You look odd and not like you at all. Who is this imposter?’

Remind the nice ladies and gentleman at home why you are doing this again? 

To humiliate myself for charity, obligatory link pimping:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

One thought on “Day 12 of 30 styles in 30 days: summer scarf updo

Leave a Reply

