Day 8 of 30 styles in 30 days: fake bob

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 19.37.44

How are you feeling?

Very, very sleepy. Since starting this project I have spent an estimated 180 minutes styling my hair. That’s 172 minutes more than I usually do.

images 

And although I’m not claiming me getting up early to faff around with my hair is a sacrifice in line with running a marathon or jumping out of plane it does involve having to (HORROR OF HORRORS) get out of bed early. 

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

I know you are just a fictional construct I created for these blog posts but I don’t appreciate your tone Other Me. Today it’s faux bob time. (Said nobody in the history of the world ever! Apart from me just now.) 

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 19.38.11

You what now?

A fake bob? No, nothing? A fake bob is when you it looks like you’ve chopped 9 inches off your hair for charity but when you haven’t actually done it.

If this hair had a personality it would be…

Looks like an spoilt yet steely aristocrat who would do anything to preserve her birthright.

Is actually a consumptive who can’t bear drafts, the cold, the warm, and uncouth people.

PicMonkey Collage2.jpg

What I’m saying is that this hairstyle is delicate.

What do I need?

A hairband

Bobby pins. Lots of bobby pins. Estimate how many bobby pins you will need and then quadruple it. Basically you will have so many pins in your hair it will no longer be safe to go through airport security.

Instructions

bobforadaytutorial1

bobforadaytutorial2

Source

  1. Section off the top half of your hair
  2. Plait the bottom half of your hair
  3. Pin the plaits to your head
  4. Take down the upper half of your hair
  5. Loosely pin strands in on themselves covering the plaits
  6. Pin until all your hair is secured and the plaits are completely covered

How long did it take?

20 minutes.

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

Moderately. There was swearing involved but I still managed without stabbing myself in the head too hard.

The thing about this hairstyle is that is it’s convincing. A colleague at work thought I’d actually cut my hair.

But, it has the structural integrity of a meringue.  I had to go the toilet three times to keep repinning it. There comes a point when one cannot get any more bobby pins into one’s barnet. And given that my day job involves me sitting very still and editing things, this hair style is less party hard and more treat with kid gloves. I have very thick hair and lots of it so your mileage may vary.

Frankly if I want a bob it would be a hell of a lot easier to just cut all my hair off… which I’m doing in less than a month. And you can totally donate here if you haven’t already:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

Show us the finished product?

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Holding head very, very carefully.

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘Hmph’ To be fair he was asleep.

Why are you doing this again? 

Other me, thy forgetful little thing, for charity of course:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

Leave a Reply

