Day 6 of 30 styles in 30 days: faux bettie fringe

download

How are you feeling?

Really, really happy. Thanks to the unbelievable generosity of friends and family we are halfway towards our fundraising target.

Plus today I am channelling a retro hair goddess Bettie Page

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

Faux Bettie Page fringe action!

If this hair had a personality it would be…

“Hanging out in a dystopian future as assistant to the expert in replicants when PI and all round hot dude Harrison Ford Deckard walks in. After he accuses me of being a replicant I vow to show him. Except it turns out I sort of am. Crap”

tumblr_kyjz1srJN21qa1iiqo1_1280

Oops, spoilers.

What do I need?

Bobby pins

Hair rat*

Plus (sing it sister)a mega can of hair spray

*A hair rat is the single most disgusting hair accessory ever. It’s basically a lumpy stocking filled with your old hair that you use as a filler to wrap your fringe around. Excuse me while I go dry heave. Unfortunately, I don’t happen to collect my own hair cos that would be weird. So instead I used a weird sponge comb thing I bought in asda in a fit of ‘I have do 30 hair styles and I only know to do three. Let me buy all the hair things.’ Surely it would work just as well…

Looks like a poo, is actually a hair comb
Looks like a poo, is actually a hair comb

Instructions

  1. Brush hair forward and section off some a semi circle wide. The more hair you include the bigger the fringe
  2. Get your hair rat of substitute and wrap hair around
  3. Roll til it reaches the mid point of your forehead (mine is slightly too high as you can see below) and secure with bobby pins
  4. Spray the crap out of it with the hair spray
  5. If you want to conceal where you fringe starts add a scarf or hairband.

The best thing about this style is even if you already have a fringe you can create a faux bettie fringe just by brushing more hair forward

How long did it take?

Ten minutes to do…

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

And 20 minutes to disentangle. It was a surprisingly easy hairstyle to do. However, because I used a sponge on a comb somehow I managed to get it hooked in my hair and I could not disentangle myself. I had to get HWSNBN to help. Learn from my lesson, use a skanky hair rat it’s safer.

Show us the finished product?

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘You’ve tangled yourself up again?’ I’m not saying it happens a lot but it’s not infrequent either.

Why are you doing this again? 

For charity. Thank you so much for being so generous, it makes it all worth it:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

Got any ideas for hairstyles you want to see me try fail at, let me know in the comments

Leave a Reply

