Day 5 of 30 styles in 30 days: I whip my hair back and forth

0a285822c3336363b171f17b5466406b

How are you feeling?

Triumphant. After yesterdays face plant of epic proportions, I feel actually a) found a hairstyle within my narrow and limited abilities and b) I might have just pulled it off.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-23859-1381845509-0

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

Super long double ponytail action

If this hair had a personality it would be…

Standing in a field, swishing my tail and wishing for sugar cubes. Cos it’s a ponytail, geddit? …Nobody?

sweeeess_meeeesss_2-2607-2

What do I need?

Two hair bands: one normal sized, one mini

(And do I even need to say it anymore) a mega can of hair spray

Instructions

98c952b18bb979e3b36258d10e340f75

Source

  1. Divide hair in two to create one ponytail on top of your hair and one underneath
  2. Gather top half of hair into a ponytail, taking especial care to gather hair near
  3. Tie using big hair tie
  4. Create a ponytail with the lower half of the hair using the smaller hair tie
  5. Foof the upper ponytail so it conceals the lower ponytail
  6. And you have one superlong ponytail

You sit on a throne of lies!

tumblr_magx3des9d1qcqckvo1_500

Yeah I do. But here’s what I’ve been thinking: all beauty is built on lies. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to look good. But beauty standards are getting ever more unrealistic and the pressure is unfairly levelled at one group – women. Just witness the press coverage this week of Nigella Lawson that focused on her appearance over what she said.  And here’s the thing about hair and beauty when we add up all that time, all that money, all that mental effort we spend longing for unobtainable perfection – doesn’t it seem such a waste. Such a con, a magic trick that when we are starving ourselves so our thighs don’t look fat we’re distracted from addressing the real issues of equal rights, extreme sexualisation and the systematic inequalities. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to look good but at what price?

Feminist rant over and out.

How long did it take?

Five minutes the ultimate lazy day hairstyle

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

Yes, super easy. Super quick. And even better it made my hair look Rapunzel long. Result.

images

I spent the rest of the day playing this song in my internal mind palace and swishing my hair so hard I almost gave myself whiplash

Show us the finished product?

ponytail.jpg

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘How did you do that?’ Magic HWSNBN, magic!

Why are you doing this again? 

In memory of the lovely Lianne Irayla Munaf, my best friend. We miss you so much honey. I would give anything to have you still be here. If you knew Lianne please donate to:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

Thanks xxx

Leave a Reply

