Day 4 of 30 styles in 30 days: the Boho Braid

How are you feeling?

Like the sad wah, wah trombone music is following me around soundtracking my sudden yet inevitable hair failure.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5448-1379086972-8

In life some days you’re the floor, getting showered in kittens, whoop whoop. And some days you’re the kitten faceplanting like a pro.

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

Boho Braid, biatches.

If this hair had a personality it would be…

“Like I just got back from gap year, yah. And I like I totally found myself in Thailand, you know Jocasta? It was like totally amazing. And I got this amazing Aztec inspired knitwear for like next to nothing.”

People, I hate to break it to you, but this is hipster hair.

What do I need?

Two hair bands

Hair clips

Magic hair super powers (which I do not have. At all. In any way.)

Instructions

TBDhairtutorialwinner

Source

  1. Part hair into two sections
  2. Separate out fringe
  3. French plait one side of the head til the nape of the neck and secure.
  4. Repeat on the other side
  5. Take two locks of hair from each side of the head next to your ears.
  6. Pull the locks behind your head and knot.
  7. Tie locks in a bow.
  8. Secure bow with hair pins.
  9. When done spray the crap out of hair with hair spray.

How long did it take?

Two hours, or so it felt like it.

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

No. The guide made it looked so simple and so easy. I failed to take into account that I have never done a french plait in my life. Yes, a hairstyle most people master at ten. I must have french plaited and unplaited my hair FIVE times and still it looked lumpy, uneven and nothing like the picture.

Show us the finished product?

boho.jpg

Nailed it! Or not…

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘Is it meant to look like that?’ When HWSNBN is noticing your hair is looking janked up, it must look really, really bad.

Why are you doing this again? 

To turn from hair novice into hair goddess, but as that’s not working out too well maybe you could donate to Phyllis Tuckwell instead:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

Back tomorrow with more hair fails this is Rowan over and out!

One thought on “Day 4 of 30 styles in 30 days: the Boho Braid

Leave a Reply

