Day 3 of 30 styles in 30 days: the lesser spotted hairbow

Screen Shot 2013-12-06 at 16.14.36

How are you doing?

It’s day 3 of 30 styles in 30 days and I’ve got my eye on the prize.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5459-1379087903-0

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

The lesser spotted hairbow

You what now?

Well, other me since the beginning of this project I have had one aim in mind. Yes, I wanted to raise money for charity. Yes, I was hopeful I’d learn other styling tips than: Wash and Brush Your Hair. But secretly in my heart of hearts I wanted to master The Hairbow.

What is The Hairbow you ask? The Hairbow is the greatest single hair-relation invention since the plait. As the name suggests you make a bow made entirely   out of your own hair! But for somebody of my skillset you don’t just do a Hairbow just like that. First you need to limber up, practise your skills on other lesser hairstyles. But by the end of this month, I vow *cue stirring music* I will climb the Hairbow shaped mountain.

big.jpg

If this hair had a personality it would be…

Business at the front, party at back.

download (2)

What do I need?

Slightly phallic looking hair wand

Bobby pins

Serum

And one BIG can of hairspray!

Instructions

hairbowtutorial

Via

  1. Divide hair into sections.
  2. Loosely wave hair with hair wand
  3. Gloss curls slight with serum to define.
  4. Take two locks of hair from each side of the head next to your ears.
  5. Pull the locks behind your head and knot.
  6. Tie locks in a bow.
  7. Secure bow with hair pins.
  8. When done spray the crap out of hair with hair spray.

How long did it take?

Ten minutes.

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

The easiest hair style, even I managed it. The only issue is seeing the back of your head to tie the hairbow so position yourself between two mirrors (take care not to lose your soul)

Show us the finished product?

Volia!

Coll.jpg

It’s not that easy to see on dark hair and with my crappy photography skills but I assure you it’s there. I wouldn’t fake a hairbow 🙂

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘I am not commenting on your hair anymore. Or taking any hair related photos.’ After yesterdays love-in, the bloom is well and truly off the rose.

It’s really, really hard to take a photo the back of your own head. Damn you HWSNBN!

Why are you doing this again? 

For CHARIDEE other me, for charidee. Like hair bows? Want one of your very own. If donate to our just giving page available here:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

I will *personally come round and make one for you.

*Not really. But I will love you forever. And isn’t that as good as a hair bow really?

Don’t answer that.

Leave a Reply

