Day 2 of 30 days in 30 styles: Pimp my bun

musical-jewellery-boxes-j13dcf-ballerina-big

How are you doing?

Day 2 of 30 days, 30 styles and I am feeling excited. I got a compliment from somebody, who didn’t know about the project, that I looked really good today, yes! Unfortunately that does raise questions about how scruffy I normally look.

Me, looking in the mirror any other day
Me, looking in the mirror any other day

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

Pimp my bun!

download

If this hair was a person who would they be?

Hungrily hallucinating that their hair is actually a pastry.

Yes I may be 31, I may be chubby, I may have the coordination and grace of a wombat. But for one day, and one day only I have delusions of ballerina dom.

Ballet-Ballerina-1853

What do I need?

Hair donut thing or a sock (yes really, I thought this was a big prank on the hair novice. But it’s true people do actually put socks in their hair!). You see fellow hair novices all my life I have subject to inferior buns. Until inspired by this project I bought a hair donut*. * Caution do not eat despite the name it is not yummy.

bd07a9c32421d3ae1b29fc1aeb5c0afc

Hair tie

Bobby pins

And one BIG can of hairspray

Instructions


9696f2d2ef6c3560d8260d974ac34e6f

  1. Choose where you want you hair bun to be: nape of the neck: lady, midway up head: woman of questionable virtue, top of the head: hoor. Naturally I choose hoor.
  2. Put hair in ponytail.
  3. Thread donut over the base.
  4. Then drape hair in four sections over the donut dividing it completely.
  5. Take a strand, twist and tuck under the bun.
  6. Repeat til you all the hair has been tucked.
  7. Fluff top of bun if you want it bigger. (How big? Think size of the deathstar big!)
  8. Secure hair with hairs pins.
  9. Then spray the shit out of it with hair spray.

Show us the finished product?

Pastry head, FTW

Bottom right, I look like I am preparing to punch out the camera. Don't judge I have resting bitch face. It's a condition
Bottom right, I look like I am preparing to punch out the camera. Don’t judge I have resting bitch face. It’s a condition

How long did it take?

15 minutes of which ten were spent figuring out the tucking bit. With a bit of practise I think this will take you 5 minutes tops.

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

Yeeeees. It took me way too long to figure out how to tuck in the hair without uncovering the hair donut. So much so that I got really achey arms. After yesterdays styling wand burn, I am two for two when it comes to hair related injuries. Guys this looking good shit is not for the fainthearted.

The best thing about being inducted into the secret hair donut clan is the options it gives you for further pimpage. Adding bows, scarves, daisies, plaits, low buns, high buns: the possibilities are endless*.

Hair bun.jpg

*As long as you like buns.

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘You look good, but you make any hairstyle look good.’ And that, dear reader is why I married him. That he delusionally believes this despite the multitude of photographic evidence to the contrary. Tru Wuv!

Can we give you lots of money to support a fantastic charity?

Yep, my bun isn’t the only thing I’m pimping but the wondrous charity the Phyllis Tuckwell hospice. You can donate here:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

Two hairstyles down, 28 to go. I think I need to lie down…

3 thoughts on “Day 2 of 30 days in 30 styles: Pimp my bun

  1. I wore one of them there things to your wedding, actually I rolled three together to make a mahoosive one.
    I didn’t pin it properly, so it was flooping about by the reception.

    1. Ooh did you stack them on top of each other or side by side? I thought your hair looked awesome. Two days in and I have learnt everything is made better with hair pins and hair spray. They’re the equivalent of butter and salt in cooking.

Leave a Reply

