Day 1 of 30 styles in 30 days: Look ma I’m a mermaid!

b773f8743902bccd9884ea1a291e71e7

How are you doing?

Well other me, its day 1 of 30 styles in 30 days and although I have my eyes on the prize, I’m starting the nagging feeling I’ve bitten off more than I can chew.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-3352-1374508645-10

I am less than confident about my ability to spend 30 days trying out new and interesting hairstyles without looking like a human version of what-a-mess. I mean I am the girl who had brush hair on her To Do list and still failed to do it. 

wotmess460

Prove it! By showing us a questionable hair style from your past:

OK other me, here you go:

284357_10150749920025347_8294337_n

Look at how proud I look of myself. I’m just hanging out at this concert, taking a selfie with the rattiest unbrushed hair ever!

What hair style are you failing at trying today?

Mermaid hair!

If this hair had a personality it would be…

Found hanging out on rocks, luring unsuspecting sailors to their doom. WERQING it…

410px-Waterhouse_a_mermaid

Or Ariel from the Disney movies staring winsomely up towards the land. (Flounder not included.)

download

Basically mermaids in all their iterations are the coolest things ever and who wouldn’t want to have hair like a mermaid?

tumblr_mvaym6Y8Ol1qzl1eao1_500

Free clam bra? Where do I sign?

What do I need?

Slightly phallic looking hair wand

And one BIG can of hairspray

hairspray-on-broadway

Instructions

Divide hair into sections. Curl lower half of hair. Pulling curls out slightly to loosen them. When done spray the crap out of hair with hair spray.

How long did it take?

A full 45-minute episode of Supernatural: my favourite show about HAWT demon hunting brothers in plaid. But to be frank if I had spent less time gawking at the beauty of Dean Winchester and more time curling it would probably have taken 25 minutes tops. I have my priorities in order.

images

How easy it? Could Rowan do it?

Yes and I only burnt myself once! Watch where you are prodding the rod is what I’m saying. Most wands come with a creepy Michael Jackson style glove to protect your hands but I chose second-degree burns over looking like a weirdo.

Show us the finished product?

Look ma I’m a mermaid.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

On the left me without doing anything to my hair, on the right me after styling my hair. What do you mean there is no discernable difference? (Apologies for the quality, my photo taking skills are on par with my hair styling ones.)

HWSNBN’s verdict:

‘Looks exactly like it normally does.’

So what you’re saying, is it took you 45 minutes of faffing to get your hair looking like it always does?

That’s exactly what I’m saying. Yes, I naturally have mermaid hair *SMUGFACE*

Can we give you lots of money to support a fantastic charity?

Why yes, other me you can. Please donate whatever you can to our just giving page available here:

http://www.justgiving.com/Rowan-and-Rosalind

KTHXBAI

Leave a Reply

