Music sounds better with you

Is DJing my own wedding the worst idea I’ve ever had? Possibly, considering I have the musical taste of whelk who listens to Jeff Buckley. On repeat. Constantly. As evidenced by the fact that I’ve writing this blog since 2008 and have only just created a music tag for this post. HWSNBN has even worse taste in music than I do: if it isn’t Fischerspooner or the Prodigy, he won’t have heard of it. He likes his music loud and electronic with big beats, I like slow emo warbling. Ours will not be a marriage made in musical heaven.

Because of this music is not a huge priority. Once we’d done our final calculations we realised we simply could afford to pay 400 quid for a man to occassionally shout over some tracks that we chose and lot we didn’t (sorry, wedding DJ’s you know it’s true. At least the ones we can afford). Technically I suppose I am not actually DJing, I’m not going to hovering over the decks in a big white dress. Thanks to the magic of technology we’re compiling spotify playlists for the evening reception. I know what music we’re having for the ceremony, wedding breakfast and first dance but beyond that I’m stuck. HWSNBN’s best man is an amazingly talented singer songwriter and I will working on him (read bribing) to see if he will play a set or two in the evening. But beyond that there a four plus hours to fill and I am panicking a little lot.

This is why I need you dearest reader. Help a girl out. I’ve never ever done anything like this before and although I know what songs I like (See Buckley, Jeff) I’m not sure the rest of my guests will appreciate it. Originally we were planning to invite guests to bring ipods and give them 30 minutes slots but I was worried it would turn into some kind of open warfare or that nobody would So it would be great if you could give me:

Your favourite stand and sway song
Your dance til your ass falls off song
Your favourite drunkaroake song.

Any and all suggestions are welcome. But be warned if anybody mentions the chicken song in the comments I will exercize my bridezilla right to veto you. Consider this a mission of mercy, without your help my poor guests will be stuck listening to Jeff Buckley on repeat. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

5 thoughts on “Music sounds better with you

  1. My taste in music tends to lean towards to more soulful but these I am about to list are more generic and safe:
    Your favourite stand and sway song – Richard Marx – Right Here Waiting
    Your dance til your ass falls off song – Pussycat Dolls – Jai Ho or Shakira – Hips Don’t Lie (don’t judge me but I can’t not dance whenever I hear those….lol)
    Your favourite drunkaroake song – Madonna – Live to Tell or Belinda Carlisle – Nobody Owns Me or Don’t Speak – No Doubt
    Dunno what that says about me or if I have helped at all but that’s my input, good luck….and oh, like I said on Facebook some mowtown (Otis Redding, Marvin Gaye) and old skool rock (think the Who, Beatles etc) for the olds đŸ˜‰

  2. Right, we both know need some s club, old school whitney, nina! Some bouncy indie style stuff like blink 182/ green day/ can’t think right now of other examples, just stuff we can bounce to! Then slow and swaying can’t beat old school classics wet wet wet (goodnight girl) and once again ran out of thoughts after that classic!
    Have fun compiling, and please don’t let john help, looking forward to listening to your choices

  3. Ooh, totally agree with the Shakira! Also, maybe Go West or Domino Dancing by the Pet Shop Boys? Both dancey and Go West definately a drunkeoke for me! Slowy-wise, I like a bit of Tracy Chapman maybe?

Leave a Reply

