Our book-themed wedding?

We are having a book-themed wedding. There I said it, now I have to leave.

Weddings don't need to be themed Belle!

Before we got engaged, I would mercilessly mock the concept of themed weddings. ‘Isn’t the theme I’m getting married enough?’ Back then, I wasn’t really sure if weddings were for me (HA!). I didn’t want to get married in a church, have my dad give me away and dressing everything up with a naff theme wasn’t going to change that.

Past me was scornful of themed weddings and muscly 🙂

But then I got engaged and I discovered wedding blogs filled with people who were doing it differently. Personalising their wedding with the things they loved whether it was superheroes or the sea. I gradually discovered that themes didn’t always have to be naff.

I suppose I could come around to the idea of a themed wedding

But I didn’t really think that a theme would be right for us until we found our venue. The minute I walked into the Library at the Elvetham I knew like Eliza Bennett and Pemberley this was the one for me. Yes, they had me at Library 🙂

All these books just for me

It was HWSNBN who first suggested that we have a book themed wedding, and I feel little guilty because it’s inspired by what I love not HWSNBN. He self-admittedly has read maybe twenty books in his life compared to thousands I’ve devoured.

Although I am absurdly grateful we don’t have a Myers Briggs themed wedding (HWSNBN’s passion, don’t ask).

HWSNBN clings harder to Myers Briggs than the Beast to his rose

You see, I’ve loved books for as long as I could remember. Ever since I learnt to read books opened up new worlds for me, they were a diversion and a lifeline. I read everywhere: on buses, on bikes and anything from horror to literary fiction.

But I've never read to sheep, a new goal

Even my favourite Disney film, do you know what it is yet, I love because the heroine is as book obsessive as I am. And she’s brunette too, v rare for Disney. And she marries a hairy-man beast. Really the parallels are endless.

HWSNBN

As a wannabe writer and life-long bibliophile it seems only natural that books should heavily feature in one of the greatest stories of my life: my marriage to the man I love.

He can’t buy me a library (yet), but we we are holding our wedding reception in one. WIN!

Not that I'm hinting, but look a Library

I’m so excited to be finally emerging from the theme-closet and over the next month or so I’ll fill you in on all the bookish details from our bookmark invites to our book covers guestbook. Bet you can’t wait?

So, so excited
3 thoughts on “Our book-themed wedding?

    1. Yay! I know, so often they can fall over the line into unadulterated cheese. As opposed to a ‘themed wedding’, I’ve decided I’m having a ‘things I love wedding’ it’s a lot broader and fits my magpie brain

Leave a Reply

